Raphael Stern will be joining the faculty as an assistant professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering at the University of Minnesota. Before joining UMN, Raphael was a PhD student in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering and the Coordinated Science Laboratory at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, and a visiting scholar at the Institute for Software Integrated Systems at Vanderbilt University.  Raphael’s primary research interests include transportation cyber physical systems, and smart and resilient cities. In 2015 Raphael was a fellow at the Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics on the campus of the University of California, Los Angeles. Raphael’s awards include being named a three time recipient of the Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship, a 2014 Eno Fellow from the Eno Transportation Foundation, and a 2014 Data Science for Social Good Fellow from the Eric & Wendy Schmidt Foundation.


  • Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Informatics, Technical University of Munich; February 2019 – present
  • Visiting StudentInstitute for Software Integrated Systems, Vanderbilt University; January 2018 – January 2019
  • Graduate Research Assistant, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; May 2013 – December 2017
  • Visiting Scholar, Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics, University of California Los Angeles; August 2015 – December 2015
  • Eric & Wendy Schmidt Data Science Fellow, University of Chicago; June 2014 – August 2014
  • Undergraduate Research Assistant, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; January 2012 – May 2013

Honors and awards

  • DeLeuw Award, Departmental, 2017
  • Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellow,  US DoT, 2014-2015, 2018
  • Best Presentation Award, International PhD Student Symposium, 2015
  • David Boyce Fellow, Departmental, 2015
  • Eno Leadership Development Fellow, Eno Center for Transportation, 2014
  • Charles William Koch Award, Eno Center for Transportation, 2014
  • Ira O. Baker Award, Departmental, 2013
  • Carroll C. Wiley Award, Departmental, 2013